Christian Senior Citizens Homes Society of Northern Alberta

The Christian Senior Citizens Homes Society of Northern Alberta was registered as a charitable not-for-profit society under the Government of Alberta’s Societies Act in 1968. Since then, the Society has provided both independent and assisted living facilities to seniors in our Christian community. All of this is accomplished under the guiding principles captured in the name Emmanuel, which means God with us.

For more than 45 years, Society members and the Christian community have, through prayers, donations and time, enabled Emmanuel Home to provide quality housing for seniors and individualized care in a vibrant, loving and supportive retirement community.

When you become a member, you get the chance to provide your input on significant issues that affect residents and their families. You will also receive regular information, filling you in on all the latest news and events at Emmanuel Home and you will be invited to participate in many events during the year.

Annual membership dues are $20.00 per person or $30.00 per family. You can easily make your membership donations online by using the Donate link below.

If you are a new member, complete the attached form and email to or mail to Emmanuel Home, 13429 57 St NW, Edmonton, AB, T5A 0T8.

Contact the Society via: Darren Sinke, Chief Executive Officer, , P: 780-478-2792. Mail:  c/o Emmanuel Home, 13429 57 St NW, Edmonton, AB T5A 0T8.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body in all matters pertaining to the Society, operating under Alberta’s Societies Act and the bylaws of the Christian Senior Citizens Homes Society of Northern Alberta.

Board members are representatives of the Society membership and provide leadership to the Executive Director. They also have a fiduciary responsibility to see that the finances and records of the Society are in good order, and support the organization by making necessary policies and decisions.

Directors serve three-year terms to a maximum of six concurrent years.

2019/2020 Board of Directors

  • Allan Brennan
  • Anko Buwalda
  • Bert Kamphius
  • Kelvin Van Dasselaar
  • Hilda Van Veen-Gritter
  • Mary Velthuizen
  • Marjean Verseveldt
  • Peter Jonkman
  • Pan Zhang (Margaret Verboon)

Board Executive

  • Kelvin Van Dasselaar – Chair
  • Marjean Verseveldt – Vice-Chair
  • Anko Buwalda – Secretary
  • Allan Brennan – Treasurer